Week Four: Shutter Speed Task

Hi everyone! This weeks photography task was the shutter speed task. We had to demonstrate how it has an effect on moving objects. The object had to be captured with different shutter speeds at the same time of day and in the same setting. For this task I chose to take a picture of a fan. I thought it would be a good choice as a fan moves quite fast so I could get a good idea of how the shutter speed works. I have never really adjusted the shutter speed setting on my camera as I wasn’t really sure what it was for, but after completing this task I understand what it does and will use it for pictures I take in the future.

The shutter speed works by changing the length of time that light is let into the lens. A faster shutter speed freezes moving objects while a slower shutter speed creates motion blur of a moving object.

In the first image, I used the highest shutter speed setting on my camera which is 1/125. In this picture it looks like the fan is turned off, which was not the case. It was set to the second highest setting!

In the second image, I set it to 1/8, which created a little motion blur in the picture.

In the final image, I used one of the slower shutter speeds, 2″. In this picture you can tell that the fan is moving as there is a blur on the blades. When using a slower shutter speed, I noticed when you press the capture button, the images takes a lot longer to capture as the camera is lengthening the amount of time the light is let into the lens.

That completes this weeks task and stay tuned for my next post on Publishing and hosting your own podcast!

 

Leave a Reply

